The Cheese Shop, Nottingham

Hands up who loves cheese? I’m assuming quite a few of you have your hands in the air right now. I love cheese so much that I have both my hands up, which is fairly impressive given I’m somehow still managing to type this. Three cheers for cheese!

As much as I love sweet things, if I had to choose between cheese and chocolate, then nine out of ten times, cheese would be the winner.

So it should come as no surprise that The Cheese Shop in Nottingham is one of my favourite foodie finds in the city. No fancy play on words, it does what it says on the tin. This is a shop, which sells cheese. It does one thing, and it does it truly well.

This family-run business has been running for almost 20 years, and has a loyal clientele in Nottingham. Local Michelin-starred chef Sat Bains even sources his cheese from here.

Around a month ago, The Cheese Shop moved premises. It stayed in the Flying Horse Walk arcade, but moved a few doors up, to expand from a small cheese counter, to a store about four times the size, now featuring a 30-cover cafe. More cheers for the cheese shop please!

Last weekend my friend Meli and I paid the new version of The Cheese Shop a visit, so I thought I’d share a little virtual tour of it with you.

Cheese counter at The Cheese Shop

The cheese counter at The Cheese Shop, is of course still the highlight. They have a huge selection, with a focus on locally sourced and British cheeses. You can pick up Nottinghamshire cheeses such as Stilton from Colston Bassett and Cropwell Bishop dairies, and Stichelton from the Welbeck Estate. Also regional varieties such as Lincolnshire Poacher.

Easy on the eye

The brothers who run the shop are helpful and friendly – they can answer any of your cheese related questions, and when I was in choosing cheese for a cheese plate a few weeks ago, they even let me try small pieces of the cheeses I was interested in before buying.

Friendly little mouse

As well as cheese, they now have an amazing array of homemade cakes, to be eaten with a lovely cup of tea. Plus they serve great value cheese rolls, where you can choose from any of the cheeses on the counter and have it served up in a crusty roll (with onion relish if you like) for just £2.50. Bargain!

Meli went for the classic Victoria sponge, and I had a goats cheese roll with onion relish. It was delicious… sorry no pics of those as they were eaten far too quickly.

Cafe at The Cheese Shop

There are plenty of other food treats to tempt you in store too – I can see myself doing a bit of Christmas shopping here.

Table of treats

Tempting truffles

These truffles looked particularly lovely I thought.

Cat tongues

And my French friend was excited to see these classic French biscuits, ‘cat tongues’ on sale. Some of you may have seen Danny do a version of these in the Great British Bake Off recently.

I heartily recommend a visit to the Cheese Shop next time you’re in Nottingham. I’ll be returning soon to keep working my way through the cheese selection, in order to made an educated decision on which is my favourite.

Which do you prefer? Chocolate or cheese?

Happy eating,

Erin x

7 thoughts on “The Cheese Shop, Nottingham

  1. Oh amazing I didn’t know they had moved! I will be heading there in a few weeks for my dads Christmas present, a big hamper of cheeses – and think I may have to have a few to sample as well 😉

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Langues du chat | Florence&Belle

Leave a Reply

